Planned Giving

A Traditional Form of Giving

The most traditional form of a deferred gift is a bequest included in a person’s will or revocable (living) trust. Allow us to assist you and your legal and financial advisors as you tailor your bequest to fulfill your specific wishes. And, if you intend to include the Community Foundation in your estate plans or have already done so, please let us know; documentation and discussion will help us ensure that your wishes become a reality.

What, when and how much do you want to give?

  • A specific dollar amount – Example: I give and bequeath $100,000 to the Community Foundation of Collier County.
  • Specific personal or real property – Example: I give and bequeath our primary residence and the art collection within the primary residence to the Community Foundation of Collier County.
  • Residuary gift – You may give the remainder of your estate in whole or in part. Example: I give and bequeath 50 percent of the residual of my estate to the Community Foundation of Collier.
  • Contingent gift – You may want to give a gift only if certain conditions are met. Example: I give and bequeath {my farm property} to my spouse, if he or she survives me. If my spouse does not survive me, I give and bequeath {my farm property} to the Community Foundation of Collier.

How do you want your bequest to be used?

  • Unrestricted gift: The gifts is made to the Community Foundation of general purposes.
  • Field-of-Interest gift: Choose a philanthropic area that you are passionate about.
  • Gift to an existing fund: You may leave bequests to funds that you established before your death; these may be donor-advised, scholarship or designated funds.
  • Use gift to create a fund: You may use a bequest to create a new fund to be administered by the Community Foundation. The new fund may be a donor-advised, scholarship or designated fund, and may be endowed or unendowed. The fund may be established while you are living and be named in your will or trust. The fund may also honor someone or serve as a memorial tribute.

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society is comprised of members who have included the Community Foundation of Collier County in their estate plan. The Legacy Society provides awareness to the general public about philanthropic opportunities that exist to sustain the future of our community while creating a family legacy.

Including the Community Foundation in your estate plan is easy. You can simply include a few lines about the percentage of your estate or trust, sum of money or property you would like to donate. You can also name additional beneficiaries. Contact our expert staff at the Community Foundation to start the conversation.
Members of the Legacy Society

Ms. Patricia Aiken-O’Neill Ms. Brenda G. Hawkins Stephen R. and Mary Lynn Myers
Mr. and Mrs. Marcelo A. Alvarez Dr. Mana A. Holtz Dr. Myra Nichol Williams
Ms. Bridget Bannon Mr. and Mrs. Alan M. Horton Mr. and Mrs. Noel Osborne
Mrs. Jane Billings Mrs. Robert Hurd Mr. James D. Proud
Ms. Huguette L. Castaneda Ms. Nancy Reed Ickes Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Rosenzweig
Mr. Ansel M. Chandler Michael Isermann and
 Penelope Isermann
Mr. and Mrs. Gary W. Schmelz
Mrs. Patricia A. Daniel Mr. and Mrs. David M. Jones Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Schueddig
Mr. and Mrs. James F. Derham Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. Kant Mrs. Joan C. Shipman
Mr. and Mrs. Louis H. Dingerdissen Dr. Charles M. Karpas Ms. Laura Simmelink
Ms. Susan H. Earl Patrick E. Keesler and 
Eileen Connolly-Keesler
Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson A. Simpson
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel L. Finkelstein Mrs. Joyce H. Kempton Mrs. Nancy Sineni
Mrs. Patricia A. Forkan Mr. Dennis Kilcoyne Mr. and Mrs. Erland P. Stevens Jr.
Dr. Howard L. Freedman Rev. Dr. Kathleen L. Kircher Mrs. Helen Strong
Mrs. Diane R. Garesche Mrs. G. Edna Krentz Mr. Thomas A. Sully
Mrs. Betty Lee Gates Mr. and Mrs. Ben J. Lancashire Dr. and Mrs. Donald Ullrich
Mr. and Mrs. James R. Gibson, Jr. Mr. William R. Lindsay Wayne T. and Loretta N. Umetsu
Mrs. Christine Ginos Mrs. Alice Ross T. Martell Mrs. Miriam Wolfson Shuler
Ms. Nina A. Gray Dr. Mary McLearn Mr. Bob Young
Mrs. Elizabeth S. Hall Dr. and Mrs. Charles J. Montgomery Mr. Dietrich E. Zimmerman